12Wonder
June 20th, 2005, 02:10 PM
BEWARE OF FALSE DOMAIN RENEWAL OR OTHER DOMAIN REGISTRATION NOTICES !!
Recently several of our customers have been targeted by unethical domain registrars who send "renewal" notices in the mail, OR who send unsolicted faxes, OR who send email "Renewal Notices", OR even who make telephone calls requesting a customer's fax number so that the company can send "imporant information" about a domain registration and changes regarding internet domains.
These unethical registrars include The Domain Registry of America, Namejuice.com, Domain Renewal Group, Brandon Gray Internet Services Inc, Liberty Domains of America, Liberty Names of America, Register.com, "Domain Renewal" (domainrenewal-online.com), Verisign Inc., Internet Domain Registry, Domain Support Group, Domain Registry Support, Domain Listing Center, Inc., and the Domain Registry of Canada, as well as a few others. These unscrupulous domain registrars mine various WHOIS databases and send notices via regular Mail or Fax that appear to be notices of domain expiration and/or renewal.
These notices are misleading and are intended to trick customers into thinking the domain was originally registered with them. The notices appear to be legal documents instructing the domain name owner to submit payment or a fax to prevent their domain name from expiring, or to keep their domain, etc. Most of these notices employ scare tactics to make you think that if you do not respond to it you will lose your domain name. The notices fail to clearly state that domain names renewed by this method will not only be renewed but will be TRANSFERRED to the services of the unethical registrar. They may also advertise services similar to our own but do not be fooled. If you renew your domain as a result of getting one of these mailed or faxed notices, your domain will no longer be registered with us. Further, you will most likely lose control of your domain because you will no longer be able to manage any of your domain services once the domain is transferred away.
WE DO NOT SEND RENEWAL NOTICES OR ANY OTHER DOMAIN-RELATED NOTICES BY POSTAL MAIL OR BY FAX. Domain renewals at 12Wonder are not done via postal mail. Additionally, we do not use any third party to solict payment for domain renewals or registrations.
When it is time for your domain registration to be renewed, we will send you renewal notices only by email, to the email address on file for the Administrative contact for your domain. We send notices via email 60 days and 30 days prior to the domain expiration date to make sure you don't miss it, and also on the actual date of domain expiration.
Domain renewals must be processed online directly through your 12WonderWebServices.com (http://www.12wonderwebservices.com) Member Account / Manage Domain area. If any domain renewal notice you get puts you at a site other than ours, do NOT continue. If you do, you will end up transferring your domain to someone else if you continue with the process.
Anne
Recently several of our customers have been targeted by unethical domain registrars who send "renewal" notices in the mail, OR who send unsolicted faxes, OR who send email "Renewal Notices", OR even who make telephone calls requesting a customer's fax number so that the company can send "imporant information" about a domain registration and changes regarding internet domains.
These unethical registrars include The Domain Registry of America, Namejuice.com, Domain Renewal Group, Brandon Gray Internet Services Inc, Liberty Domains of America, Liberty Names of America, Register.com, "Domain Renewal" (domainrenewal-online.com), Verisign Inc., Internet Domain Registry, Domain Support Group, Domain Registry Support, Domain Listing Center, Inc., and the Domain Registry of Canada, as well as a few others. These unscrupulous domain registrars mine various WHOIS databases and send notices via regular Mail or Fax that appear to be notices of domain expiration and/or renewal.
These notices are misleading and are intended to trick customers into thinking the domain was originally registered with them. The notices appear to be legal documents instructing the domain name owner to submit payment or a fax to prevent their domain name from expiring, or to keep their domain, etc. Most of these notices employ scare tactics to make you think that if you do not respond to it you will lose your domain name. The notices fail to clearly state that domain names renewed by this method will not only be renewed but will be TRANSFERRED to the services of the unethical registrar. They may also advertise services similar to our own but do not be fooled. If you renew your domain as a result of getting one of these mailed or faxed notices, your domain will no longer be registered with us. Further, you will most likely lose control of your domain because you will no longer be able to manage any of your domain services once the domain is transferred away.
WE DO NOT SEND RENEWAL NOTICES OR ANY OTHER DOMAIN-RELATED NOTICES BY POSTAL MAIL OR BY FAX. Domain renewals at 12Wonder are not done via postal mail. Additionally, we do not use any third party to solict payment for domain renewals or registrations.
When it is time for your domain registration to be renewed, we will send you renewal notices only by email, to the email address on file for the Administrative contact for your domain. We send notices via email 60 days and 30 days prior to the domain expiration date to make sure you don't miss it, and also on the actual date of domain expiration.
Domain renewals must be processed online directly through your 12WonderWebServices.com (http://www.12wonderwebservices.com) Member Account / Manage Domain area. If any domain renewal notice you get puts you at a site other than ours, do NOT continue. If you do, you will end up transferring your domain to someone else if you continue with the process.
Anne